Pride. Power. Professionalism.

About ABENY Inc.

The organization originated in the 1960’s. The New York Association of Negro School Supervisors and Administrators (NYANSSA) derived its membership from the first long list of licensed black assistant principals and the six licensed black principals that existed at that time. The six licensed black principals as a group held thirteen supervisory licenses. The association was formed to be a voice in support of African-Americans being educated in the New York City Public Schools. Edna Gordon was the first president of the association.

The Late Rufus Shorter was the second. There was a name change under the third President, Dr. Arnold Webb, and the association became known as the New York Association of Black School Supervisors and Administrators (NYABSSA). Former Presidents included Clifton Gross, Andrew Donaldson, and James Roberts. Another name change came about in the 1970’s. The New York Association of Black Educators, (NYABE) came into existence when the association opened membership to include teachers, guidance counselors, school board members, and those in the field of education.

In 1975, after a hiatus of three years, The New York Association of Black Educators II (NYABE II) was revived by Dr. J. Jerome Harris and Daisy Hicks. NYABE II’s Presidents after 1975 included Henry Malliet and Iris Maynard (co-presidents), Dr. Winston Robins and Dr. Charles Scott.

In 1984 we assumed the name ABENY, Inc. (Association of Black Educators of New York). Its presidents were Betty Coles, Dr. Franklin Wright, Elaine Davis, Gwendolyn Hall, Silverlane Clark, Fernley Murray, Larcelia Kebe, and Nora Barnes. Elaine Davis returned as President in 1998 but passed away in 1999. Dr. Robert J. Kane fulfilled her remaining term and his own term (2000-2002). Olga L. King served as president from 2002-2004. Dr. Sheilah Bobo served as president from 2004-2007. Dr. Robert J. Kane served as president from 2007-2009. Mellouise Murdaugh served as president from 2009 – 2011. Dr. Shirley Rose served as President from 2011-2013. Mable W. Robinson served as President 2013 – 2015. Nora Barnes returned as President 2015-2019.

About ABENY Photo Album

12 photo(s) Updated on: 10/06/2019

Become a member

ABENY Inc. is a member driven organization for the purpose of engaging and empowering the success of Black educators, students, and the community.

Join us

Search our Site

Phone: 917.482.9604


Copyright © 2021 ABENY Inc. All Rights Reserved.

"ABENY Inc." is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. New York .

P.O. Box 367, Gracie Station, NY 10028

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software